7 Authors Like Kate Morton

kate-mortonKate Morton  is an international bestselling Australian author. Morton has sold more than 10 million books in 38 countries, making her one of Australia’s “biggest publishing exports”. The award-winning author has written five novels: The House at Riverton (The Shifting Fog), The Forgotten Garden, The Distant Hours,The Secret Keeper, and The Lake House, which was published in October 2015.

Morton is the eldest of three sisters. Her family moved several times before settling on Tamborine Mountain where she attended a small country school. She enjoyed reading books from an early age, her favourites being those by Enid Blyton.

She completed a Licentiate in Speech and in Drama from Trinity College London and then a summer Shakespeare course at the Royal Academy of Dramatic Art in London. Later she earned first-class honours in English Literature at the University of Queensland (1999) and won a scholarship to complete a master’s degree focussing on tragedy in Victorian literature. During her undergraduate studies she wrote two full-length manuscripts (which are unpublished) before writing The House at Riverton (The Shifting Fog), which was published in 2006.

Kate Morton is married to Davin, a jazz musician and composer. They have three children and live in the Brisbane suburb of Paddington.

1.Michael Cox

michael-coxMichael Cox attended Wellingborough Grammar School, later graduating from St. Catharine’s College, Cambridge in 1971. He studied English and had intended to be an academic, but he instead signed a contract with the record-publishing group EMI and made two albums and several singles under the pseudonym Matthew Ellis. He also recorded an album for DJM as Obie Clayton. Cox dedicated both of his novels to Dizzy Crockett whom he married in 1973. They later had a daughter. In 1977, he joined Thorsons Publishing Group (later part of Harper Collins)

Cox first book was a biography of M. R. James, a Victorian ghost story writer and this was published in 1983 by Oxford University Press. Between 1983 and 1997 he compiled and edited several anthologies of Victorian short stories for Oxford University Press and the first two were co-edited by R. A. Gilbert.

In 1989 Cox joined Oxford University Press, where he became senior commissioning editor[2] and there completed encyclopaedic work: compiling A Dictionary of Writers and their Works (1991) and The Oxford Chronology of English Literature (2002).

His first novel, The Meaning of Night, was published in 2006 and was shortlisted for the 2006 Costa first novel award. Inspired by authors such as Charles Dickens (a childhood favorite), Wilkie Collins, and Elizabeth Braddon, this thriller novel is set both in a dirty, corrupting 1850’s London, and Evenwood, an idyllic country estate – both equally full of mysteries. It was followed by a sequel, The Glass of Time set twenty years later.

2.Karen White

karen-whiteKaren White is an American author of more than fifteen novels. White was born in Tulsa, Oklahoma, and during her childhood lived in numerous states and also in Venezuela and London, England, where she graduated from The American School in London.[citation needed] She attended college at Tulane University in New Orleans, Louisiana, where she obtained a Bachelor of Science in Management.

Her first book, In the Shadow of the Moon was a double finalist for the Romance Writers of America RITA Award. The Girl on Legare Street hit The New York Times Best Seller list in November 2009, and On Folly Beach in May 2010, which was also a NYT bestseller. Most of White’s novels are based in the low-country of the southeastern United States. White currently has 15 novels published with her current book, “The Time Between” hitting the shelves in June 2013 and debuting on the NYT Bestseller list at number 25 for Hardcover fiction.

White is married with two children. White is currently published by a division of Penguin Books. She is currently contracted with them for four more books.

3.Sarah Jio

Advertisements

sarah-jioSarah Jio is the New York Times bestselling author of THE LAST CAMELLIA, BLACKBERRY WINTER, THE VIOLETS OF MARCH (a Library Journal Best Book of 2011), THE BUNGALOW, and the forthcoming, MORNING GLORY (11/26/13), all from Penguin/Plume. Sarah is also the former health and fitness blogger for Glamour.com. She has written thousands of articles for national magazines including Redbook, O, The Oprah Magazine, Glamour, SELF, Real Simple, Fitness, Marie Claire, and many others. She has appeared as a commentator on NPR’s Morning Edition. Sarah lives in Seattle with her husband and their three young boys.

4.Mary-Rose MacColl

mary-roseMary-Rose MacColl is an Australian writer whose first novel, No Safe Place, was runner-up in the 1995 Australian Vogel literary award. Her first non-fiction book, The Birth Wars, was a finalist in the 2009 Walkley Awards. In Falling Snow (October 2012), Mary-Rose’s fourth novel, tells the largely unknown story of a small group of Scottish women who ran a field hospital for France in World War I in an old abbey. MacColl holds degrees in journalism and creative writing and lives between Brisbane, Australia and Banff, Canada with her husband and son.

5.Lucinda Riley

Foto von Lucinda Riley

Lucinda Riley was born in Ireland and wrote her first book aged 24. Her novel ‘Hothouse Flower’ (also called ‘The Orchid House’) was selected for the UK’s Richard and Judy Bookclub in 2011 and went on to sell 2 million copies worldwide. She is a multiple New York Times bestselling author and has topped the bestseller charts in four European countries.

In response to demand from her readers, she has recently re-written two books from her early writing career when published under her maiden name Lucinda Edmonds – the books are now being published as ‘The Italian Girl’ and ‘The Angel Tree’.

‘The Seven Sisters’ is the first of a unique seven book series based allegorically on the mythology of the famous star constellation.

Lucinda’s books are translated into 28 languages and published in 38 countries. She lives with her husband and four children on the North Norfolk coast in England and in the South of France.

6.Kristina McMorris

kristina-mcmorrisKRISTINA MCMORRIS is a New York Times and USA Today bestselling author and the recipient of more than twenty national literary awards, as well as a nomination for the IMPAC Dublin Literary Award, RWA’s RITA® Award, and a Goodreads Choice Award for Best Historical Fiction. Inspired by true personal and historical accounts, her works of fiction have been published by Kensington Books, Penguin Random House, and HarperCollins. The Edge of Lost is her fourth novel, following the widely praised Letters from Home, Bridge of Scarlet Leaves, and The Pieces We Keep. Additionally, her novellas are featured in the anthologies A Winter Wonderland and Grand Central. Prior to her writing career, Kristina hosted weekly TV shows since age nine, including an Emmy® Award-winning program, and has been named one of Portland’s “40 Under 40” by The Business Journal. She lives with her husband and two sons in the Pacific Northwest, where she is working on her next novel.

7. Wendy Webb

wendy-webbWENDY WEBB‘s novels are mysteries about long-buried family secrets, set in big, old haunted houses on the Great Lakes.

THE VANISHING (2014, Hyperion) is the story of Julia Bishop, who takes a job as a companion for a famous novelist, who the entire world thinks is dead. When she travels to the novelist’s remote estate, she begins to suspect her too-good-to-be-true job offer is exactly that.

THE FATE OF MERCY ALBAN (2013, Hyperion) is an Indie bestseller. It’s the story of Grace Alban, who returns home after 20 years when her mother dies under questionable circumstances on the very day she (the mother) planned to reveal the truth about a tragedy that occurred during a party at Alban House long ago. A packet of old love letters and a lost manuscript by a famous novelist lead Grace to the haunted truth about what really happened that day.

Wendy’s first novel, THE TALE OF HALCYON CRANE (2010, Holt) was an IndieNext Pick, a Great Lakes Great Reads Pick and a Midwest Connections Pick. It won the prestigious Minnesota Book Award for genre fiction in 2011, and was a finalist for Le Livre de Poche’s Prix des Lecteurs award in France in 2012.