13 Authors Like John Green

John Michael Green (born August 24, 1977) is an American author, vlogger, writer, producer, actor and editor. He won the 2006 Printz Award for his debut novel, Looking for Alaska, and his sixth novel, The Fault in Our Stars, debuted at number one on The New York Times Best Seller list in January 2012. The 2014 film adaptation opened at number one at the box office. In 2014, Green was included in Time magazine’s list of The 100 Most Influential People in the World. Another film based on a Green novel, Paper Towns, was released on July 24, 2015.

Popular Books by :
The Fault in Our Stars 2012, Looking for Alaska 2005 and Paper Towns

  1. David Hagberg
  2. David Hagberg is an American author best known for his techno-thrillers highlighting super-spy Kirk McGarvey. Hagberg has additionally composed under the nom de plume Flannery, Nick Carter, David Bannerman, David James, Robert Pell, and Eric Ramsey. Hagberg’s style has been described as a hybrid of Tom Clancy and Ian Fleming. His thrillers by and large element a blend of specific detail, convenient plots and super-spy heroics that are now and then practically prophetic in their exactness.

  3. Antony John
  4. Antony John is the author of Five Flavors of Dumb, which won the Schneider Family Book Award; Thou Shalt Not Road Trip ; and the Elementals series. He lives with his family in St. Louis, Missouri. Antony John was born in England and raised on a balanced diet of fish and chips, obscure British comedies, and ABBA’s Greatest Hits. In a fit of teenage rebellion, he decided to pursue a career in classical music, culminating in a BA from Oxford University and a PhD from Duke University. Along the way, he worked as an ice cream seller on a freezing English beach, a tour guide in the Netherlands, a chauffeur in Switzerland, a barista in Seattle, and a university professor. Writing by night, he spends his days as a stay-at-home dad—the only job that allows him to wear his favorite pair of sweatpants all the time.

    Popular Books by Antony John:
    Five Flavors of Dumb 2010, Thou Shalt Not Road Trip 2012 and Elemental 2012

  5. Erin Jade Lange
  6. Erin Jade Lange writes facts by day and fiction by night. As a journalist, she is inspired by current events and real-world issues and uses her writing to explore how those issues impact teenagers. She is an only child, so she spent a lot of time entertaining herself as a kid. This required her to rely heavily on her own imagination, which is probably why she became a writer. Erin grew up in the cornfields of northern Illinois, along the Mississippi River in one of the few places it flows east to west. She now lives in the sunshine of Arizona and will forever be torn between her love of rivers and her love of the desert.

    Popular Books by :
    Dead Ends 2013, Rebel, Bully 2016 and Butter 2012

  7. Stephanie Perkins
  8. Stephanie Perkins is an American writer, known for her books Anna and the French Kiss, Lola and the Boy Next Door and the New York Times best-selling Isla and the Happily Ever After. Perkins lives in Asheville, North Carolina with her better half Jarrod Perkins. Stephanie Perkins is a New York Times and globally best-selling author. She has dependably worked with books- – first as a book retailer, at that point as a custodian, and now as a writer. She and her significant other live in the mountains of North Carolina. Each room of their home is painted an other shade of the rainbow.

  9. Marcus Sedgwick
  10. Marcus Sedgwick was born in Kent, England. Marcus is a British author and illustrator as well as a musician. He is the author of several books, including Witch Hill and The Book of Dead Days, both of which were nominated for the Edgar Allan Poe Award. The most recent of these nominations rekindled a fascination with Poe that has borne fruit here in (in The Restless Dead, 2007) the form of “The Heart of Another” – inspired by Poe’s “The Tell-Tale Heart.” Of his story, Sedgwick says, “This was one of those stories that I thought might be a novel originally but actually was much better suited to the tight form of the short story. I had the initial idea some years ago but was just waiting for the right ingredient to come along. Poe’s story, as well as his own fascination with technique, provided that final piece of the puzzle.”

    Popular Books by Marcus Sedgwick:
    Midwinterblood 2011, The Ghosts of Heaven 2014, Floodland 2000, My Swordhand Is Singing 2006 and She Is Not Invisible 2013

  11. Chris Crutcher
  12. Chris Crutcher is an American novelist and a family therapist. He received the Margaret A. Edwards Award from the American Library Association in 2000 for his lifetime contribution in writing for teens. Chris Crutcher’s writing is controversial, and has been frequently challenged and even banned by individuals who want to censor his books by removing them from libraries and classrooms. Running Loose and Athletic Shorts were on the ALA’s top 100 list of most frequently challenged books for 1990-2000. His books generally feature teens coping with serious problems, including abusive parents, racial and religious prejudice, mental and physical disability, and poverty; these themes are viewed as too mature for children. Other cited reasons for censorship include strong language and depictions of homosexuality. Despite this controversy, Crutcher’s writing has received many awards.

    Popular Books by Chris Crutcher:
    Whale Talk 2001, Staying Fat for Sarah Byrnes 1993, Running Loose 1983 Stotan! and 1986 Deadline 2007

  13. Jo Knowles
  14. Jo Knowles is the author of Living With Jackie Chan, See You At Harry’s, Pearl, Jumping Off Swings, and Lessons from a Dead Girl. Her newest book, Read Between The Lines, was called “masterfully woven” in a starred review by Kirkus. Some of her awards include two SCBWI Crystal Kite Awards, a New York Times Editor’s Choice and Notable Book, the PEN New England Children’s Book Discovery Award, an American Library Association Notable, Bank Street College’s Best Books for Children (Outstanding Merit), and YALSA’s Best Fiction for Young Adults. Jo has a master’s degree in children’s literature and teaches writing for young adults in the MFA program at Southern New Hampshire University. She lives in Vermont with her husband and son.

    Popular Books by Jo Knowles:
    See You at Harry’s 2012, Jumping Off Swings 2009, Lessons from a Dead Girl 200,7 Read Between the Lines 2015 and Living with Jackie Chan 2013

  15. David Levithan
  16. David Levithan is an American young adult fiction author and editor. His first book, Boy Meets Boy, was published by Knopf Books for Young Readers in 2003. At 19, Levithan received an internship at Scholastic Corporation where he began working on The Baby-sitters Club series. Levithan still works for Scholastic as an editorial director. Levithan is also the founding editor of PUSH, a young-adult imprint of Scholastic Press focusing on new voices and new authors. PUSH publishes edgier material for young adults and is where Patricia McCormick got her start with 2002’s Cut.

    Popular Books by David Levithan:
    Every Day 2012, Will Grayson Will Gray 2010, Boy Meets Boy 2003, Another Day 2015 and Two Boys Kissing 2013

  17. Robin Benway
  18. Robin Benway is an author from Orange County, USA. She attended college at both New York University and the University of California at Los Angeles. Robin Benway is a National Book Award winner and the author of six novels for young adults, including Audrey, Wait!, the AKA series, and Emmy & Oliver. Her books have received numerous awards and recognition, including a 2008 Blue Ribbon Award from the Bulletin for the Center of Children’s Books, 2009’s ALA Best Books for Young Adults, and 2014’s ALA Popular Paperbacks for Young Adults. In addition, her novels have received starred reviews from Kirkus, Booklist, and Publishers Weekly, and have been published in more than twenty countries. Her most recent title, Emmy & Oliver, was published in 2015 by Harper Teen, and was named one of the best books of summer by the Los Angeles Times, the Houston Chronicle, and Publishers Weekly.

    Popular Books by Robin Benway:
    Emmy & Oliver 2015, Audrey, Wait! 2008, The Extraordinary Secrets 2010, Also Known As 2013 and Going Rogue: an Also Kno… 2014

  19. Susan Isaacs
  20. Susan Isaacs is an American novelist, essayist, and screenwriter. She was born in Brooklyn, New York to Helen Asher Isaacs a homemaker, and Morton Isaacs an electrical engineer. At Queens College, she majored in English and minored in economics. Susan Isaacs is a recipient of the Writers for Writers Award and the John Steinbeck Award. She serves as chairman of the board of Poets & Writers and is a past president of Mystery Writers of America. She is also a member of the National Book Critics Circle, The Creative Coalition, PEN, the American Society of Journalists and Authors, the International Association of Crime Writers, and the Adams Round Table. She lives on Long Island with her husband.

    Popular Books by :
    Any place I hang my hat, Compromising Positions, Shining Through 1988 and Past perfect

  21. Courtney Summers
  22. Courtney Summers is a Canadian writer of young adult fiction. Her best known works are Cracked Up to Be, This is Not a Test, and All the Rage. Courtney Summers was born in Belleville, Ontario in 1986 and currently resides in a small town not far from there. At age 14, and with her parents’ blessing, Courtney dropped out of high school to pursue her education independently. At age 18, she wrote her first novel and never looked back. Her first book, Cracked Up to Be, was published in 2008, when she was 22 and went on to win the 2009 CYBIL award in YA fiction. Since then, she’s published four more books: 2011 YALSA Top 10 Quick Pick and White Pine Honour book, Some Girls Are, 2012 YALSA Quick Pick, Fall for Anything, 2013 YALSA Top 10 Quick Pick and White Pine Honour book This is Not a Test and All the Rage, which was named a Best Book of 2015 by Bustle, Book Riot, Chicago Public Library, and the B&N Teen Blog.

    Popular Books by Courtney Summers:
    All the Rage 2015, This Is Not a Test 2012, Cracked Up to Be 2008, Fall for Anything 2010

  23. Patrick Ness
  24. Patrick Ness is a British-American author, journalist, lecturer, and screenwriter. He was born in the United States and moved to London at the age of 28, and now holds dual citizenship. Patrick Ness, an award-winning novelist, has written for England’s Radio 4 and Sunday Telegraph and is a literary critic for The Guardian. He has written many books, including the Chaos Walking Trilogy, The Crash of Hennington, Topics About Which I Know Nothing, and A Monster Calls.

    Popular Books by Patrick Ness:
    A Monster Calls 2011, The Knife of Never Letting Go 2008, More Than This 2013, The Rest of Us Just Live Here 2015 and Monsters of Men 2010

  25. Maureen Johnson
  26. Maureen Johnson is an American author of young adult fiction. She has published ten young adult novels to date, including the Shades of London series and the Suite Scarlett series. Maureen knew from an early age she wanted to be a writer. She went to high school at an all-girls’ Catholic school and graduated from University of Delaware with a degree in writing. She now lives and writes in New York City. Many of the adventures Maureen’s characters face in her books are based on real-life stories. Maureen has traveled all over Europe, and is a Secret Sister to vlog brothers Hank and John Green.

    Popular Books by Maureen Johnson:
    13 Little Blue Envelopes 2005. The Name of the Star 2011, Let It Snow: Three Holiday 2008, Girl at Sea 2007 and Suite Scarlett 2008